Nominations Open for Sherman Prizes for Professional Achievement in IBD

Nominations Open for Sherman Prizes for Professional Achievement in IBD

Nominations are being accepted for the 2019 Sherman Prizes, which recognize trailblazing achievements in advancing patient care, medical research, public service and education in the fields of Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis, two types of inflammatory bowel disease (IBD).

Two awards for $100,000 are presented annually by the Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation, which supports several causes, including advanced medical research and education. A $25,000 Sherman Emerging Leader Prize goes to an early-career individual who demonstrates potential for greater future impact.

The submissions deadline is Feb. 8. Candidates may be nominated by individuals such as colleagues, peers, educators and advocates. Eligible individuals must live and work in the United States, and have accomplished their greatest achievements within the last decade.

The contest targets outstanding healthcare professionals in patient care; medical and research professionals who perform groundbreaking field research; and healthcare providers, educators and advocates who robustly support IBD education and patient and public advocacy.

Go to the website for further eligibility guidelines. To nominate someone, go here.

Honorees are chosen by the Sherman Prize board of directors, with assistance from a selection committee made up of noted IBD investigators, clinicians and healthcare providers.  Recipients will be announced in the second half of this year, and be featured in videos aimed at recognizing their accomplishments and inspiring others.

Established in 2016 and funded by the foundation, the Sherman Prize ultimately seeks to drive innovation in IBD.

“Sherman Prize recipients are outstanding individuals who consider the whole patient experience — not just the serious symptoms, but also the psychological and practical components of IBD,” the Shermans said on a website about the prize. “Their work is innovative and impactful, and goes well beyond the norm, generating positive benefits on behalf of patients, their families and caregivers, and the future trajectory of the field.”

Announced last December, 2018 Sherman Prize winners included David Binion of the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, and Jean-Frederic Colombel of the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai. Dr Amy Lightner of the Mayo Clinic was awarded the Emerging Leader Prize for her work in advancing minimally invasive surgical techniques. See their stories here.

“Nominating a peer or colleague for the Sherman Prize is a wonderful way to honor their work,”  committee chair Dermot P.B. McGovern said in a news release. “I encourage fellow IBD professionals to submit nominations for the 2019 Sherman Prizes so that exemplary achievement can continue to be elevated and serve as a source of inspiration to us all.”

Bruce Sherman is the chairman and principal owner of the Miami Marlins baseball team. Cynthia Sherman is a former partner at Clifford Chance, a global law firm. Several Sherman family members have been affected by Crohn’s disease.

In 2015, an estimated 1.3 percent of U.S. adults were diagnosed with IBD, marking an increase of 2 million patients from 1999, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).